Colorado Interlock Requirements 2013 - 2014
The Ignition Interlock is a device that is installed on motor vehicles. Once installed it stops person who are under the influence of alcohol from starting and or operating the vehicle.
The device is simple it requires a breath sample before the engine will start and while driving periodically requires you to provide breath samples.Here’s The Catch
If the device detects an elevated alcohol concentration level the vehicle will not start.When Colorado Law Requires You To Have An Interlock Device Installed On Your Car
You are required to have an Ignition Interlock device if:If you are Convicted of Driving Under the Influence
- 1st Per Se or DUI conviction - For violations on or after 1/1/09 and approved for early reinstatement after serving 30 days 8 month Interlock requirement
- 1st Per Se with a blood alcohol content of .17 or greater - 2 year Interlock requirement (all stops after 1/1/07)
- 2nd Per Se (lifetime) or DUI conviction in 5 years 2 year Interlock requirement
- 3rd + Per Se or DUI in lifetime - 2 year Interlock requirement
- Designated a Habitual Traffic Offender with one alcohol related driving offense after 7/1/00 4 year Interlock requirement after serving 1 year and approved for early reinstatement
As of Jan 1, 2014 after a 60 day “no driving” period in first time refusal cases, Colorado drivers will now be allowed to reinstate with the installation of the interlock device.
Therefore a driver with no prior alcohol related offenses, such as a DUI, DWAI, or DUID who loses his or her driver’s license for a year based on a refusal will as of January 1, 2014 be eligible to reinstate with an ignition interlock device after 60 days of no-driving. Those under year long no driving orders in 2013 will be grand-fathered in under the new law if they have had 60 days of no driving “under their belt.” as of Jan. 1, 2014.
- 2nd offense - 1 year interlock requirement after serving 1 year revocation and approved for early reinstatement
- 3rd + offense - 2 year interlock requirement after serving 1 year revocation and approved for early reinstatement
Any Interlock restricted driver who either drives a non-equipped vehicle or attempts to circumvent the proper functioning of the device is subject to a license revocation with no driving for at least 1 year.Colorado Interlock Requirements Updated 2013-2014 Early Reinstatement With Interlock
Some individuals subject to driving restraints related to alcohol issues may be allowed to reinstate their driving privileges ahead of their normal eligibility date if they participate in the Ignition Interlock program.
Early reinstatement is limited to drivers who are residents of Colorado.
Currently have their driving privilege revoked for a 1st Per Se or DUI conviction and have already served at least 30 days for the alcohol related restraint; or currently have their driving privilege revoked for an alcohol related restraint that is longer than a year in length and have already served at least one year for the alcohol related restraint must have satisfied all reinstatement requirements (other than time)
Eligibility for early reinstatement with the Interlock device is determined by the Driver Services Section. Drivers wishing to know if they are eligible to participate in the program should call Driver Services at 303 205-5613 and request analysis for early reinstatement. The result of the analysis will be available within 2 business days. Drivers must call back for determination and eligibility date if applicable.What will an Ignition Interlock cost per year?
Fees vary by vendor but a general estimate of the annual cost is $800-$1,000 per year.What do I Need to Take the Ignition Interlock Vender (Important)?
You need to take either your license or State issued identification card, a copy of the correspondence received by the Department or a copy of your motor vehicle record. This will allow the Interlock provider to match the information as it appears on the Motor Vehicle system.When is an Ignition Interlock required?
Click here for a list of the most common revocations requiring an Ignition Interlock. For additional information, call Customer Service at 303 205-5613.Do I Have to Install an Ignition Interlock on all my Cars?
Yes, you must have the Ignition Interlock installed on every vehicle you own, co-own or have access to operate.I had an Alcohol Violation That Requires an Interlock as Part of my Reinstatement. What do I do now?
After you have confirmed your eligibility to reinstate and that an Ignition Interlock is part of your reinstatement requirements, contact an approved vendor for pricing and locations. Once you have selected a vendor, have the Interlock installed and obtain the following:
- Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit DR2058
- Installation Certificate (issued by the Interlock provider)
- Application Form DR2870
- Payment of $95 (check or money order made payable to Department of Revenue)
- SR22 from your insurance company
- Required Alcohol and Drug Education document
- Certificate (form DR 2598) or Discharge Referral Summary (DRS) for a Level II education and Therapy program showing completion of courses or an Affidavit of Enrollment (form DR 2643)
About The Author: H. Michael Steinberg Email The Author. A Denver Colorado DUI Criminal Defense Lawyer or call his office at 303-627-7777 during business hours or call his cell if you cannot wait and need his immediate assistance 720-227-7777.
If you are charged with A Colorado crime or you have questions about Colorado Interlock Requirements Updated 2013-2014, please call our office. The Law Offices of H. Michael Steinberg, in Denver, Colorado, provide criminal defense clients with effective, efficient, intelligent and strong legal advocacy. We can educate you and help you navigate the stressful and complex legal process related to your criminal defense issue.
H. Michael Steinberg, is a Denver, Colorado criminal defense lawyer with over 38 years of day to day courtroom experience specializing in Colorado Criminal Law along the Front Range. He will provide you with a free initial case consultation to evaluate your legal issues and to answer your questions with an honest assessment of your options. Remember, it costs Nothing to discuss your case. Call now for an immediate free phone consultation.Helping Clients to Make Informed Decisions In the Defense of Colorado Criminal Cases
Contact A Lawyer with Three Decades of Experience as a Denver Criminal Attorney at The Steinberg Colorado Criminal Defense Law Firm Today.
Colorado Defense Lawyer H. Michael Steinberg provides solid criminal defense for clients throughout the Front Range of Colorado including the City and County courts of Adams County, Arapahoe County, City and County of Boulder, City and County of Broomfield, City and County of Denver, Douglas County, El Paso County Colorado Springs, Gilpin County, Jefferson County, Larimer County, and Weld County,…. and all the other cities and counties of Colorado along the I-25 Corridor… on cases involving Colorado Interlock Requirements Updated 2013-2014.