- Law Office of H. Michael Steinberg - https://www.hmichaelsteinberg.com -

Important Colorado Traffic Violations and The Points If Convicted

Important Colorado Traffic Violations and The Points If Convicted

The Colorado Taffic Laws Point System

When driving privileges may be suspended

The point system is based on the age of the driver and type of license. If you are in one of the following age categories and accumulate points as shown, the Colorado Motor Vehicle Division may suspend your driving privilege for as long as one year.

Minor driver – 16-18 years of age

More than five points in 12 months

More than six points within time period for which license was issued

Provisional driver – 18-21 years of age

Nine points in 12 months

12 points in 24 months

14 points within time period for which license was issued

Driver 21 years of age or older

12 points in 12 months

18 points in 24 months

Driver in course of employment* (Chaffeur)

16 points in 12 months

24 points in 24 months

28 points in 48 months

The Most Common Traffic Violations in Coloado

Leaving scene of accident (hit and run): 12 points

Driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs: 12 points

Driving while ability is impaired by alcohol: 8 points

Speed contests: 12 points

Eluding or attempting to elude a police officer: 12 points

Reckless driving: 8 points

Careless driving: 4 points

Failure to yield right-of-way: 3 points

Speeding over posted limit 5-9 mph: 1 points

Speeding over posted limit 10-19 mph: 4 points

Speeding over posted limit 20-39 mph: 6 points

Speeding over posted limit 40-or more mph: 12 points

Failure to stop for a school bus: 6 points

Driving on wrong side of road: 4 points

Failure to maintain or show proof of insurance: 4 points

Improper passing: 4 points

Failure to observe traffic sign or signal: 4 points

Improper turn: 3 points

Driving through safety zone: 3 points

Driving in wrong lane or direction on one-way street: 3 points

Failure to signal or improper signal: 2 points

Failure to yield to emergency vehicle: 4 points

Improper backing: 2 points

Failure to dim or turn on lights: 2 points

Operating an unsafe vehicle: 2 points